Ch-ch-changes

October is the month of changes here in Kentucky. Beauty can surround you as the trees and bushes withdraw their chloropyhyll and reveal the color left in their leaves. Autumn beckons with its reds, oranges, and golden yellows. Autumn is but a brief pause as the year unwinds with Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

Autumn beckons me this year with change. I wasn’t looking for it as I visited General Butler Park nearby in Carrollton, KY. I sat by the lake while admiring the lake and the beauty of the autumn foliage. I reminisced as I remembered how we used to come to the lake and enjoy the swimming area as a child. I remembered the times we had Sunday School picnic there, too.

I moved away from the lake to sit at another picnic table. I mused to myself how the park used to have several tables sitting on this concrete pad and a trash can, too. Then it hit me. I came to the park looking for direction from where I am in life. Instead it was a reminder of what is constant in life – change.

Life is all about change. Change comes in phases. The innocent childhood phase with its playfulness and questions. The rebelliousness teenage years. The college years of explorations of self and new horizons. Post college it was a time of turmoil and acceptance. Then came love and a higher calling to something more than myself. For the past eight years or so changes have come at a grievous pace culminating in acceptance.

Now I’m about to turn 60. I’ve been at my present job for over 25 years. Changes beckons me in several areas. I must change or change will come to me in ways I may not like. I must summon the courage to act on this moment. I have the gift of wisdom and patience. I am confident and up to the task of moving forward.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment